Author interview

Dear Readers,

I can not say how much I have loved each and everyone of Billy Coffey’s books.  They are all so different and yet his voice is very clear in each one.  I love his answers.  They are honest, clear and make me want to meet him.  I am excited to see what he does next.

Thank you Billy it was fun getting to know you a little bit.

Happy Reading,

Able is a wonderful mix of child and adult.  Where did you draw this from.
I’ve always loved writing about kids. I have two of my own, and though they’re both teenagers, there’s still quite a bit of innocence left in them. That way of seeing the world as a good place, a magical place, is something that really draws me. Abel’s a strange mix of old and young because he’s been through so much. He still has this innocence, but it’s tempered by his condition and the fact that he’s different.

What would you like readers to take away from Some Small magic?

First and foremost, it’s a story of friendship and love.

What is your favorite thing about writing?  Least favorite?

I love the blank page because anything can happen. I hate the blank page because anything can happen. Some Small Magic is my eighth novel. There was a time when I believed the more I did this, the easier things would get. That hasn’t turned out to be true. The more you write, the more you learn. The more you learn, the more you realize how much better you can be doing.

Where do you do most of your writing? 

I have a fulltime job, so I have to write where I can, when I can. I shoot for a chapter a day when I’m writing a novel. Some of that comes on lunch breaks, some sitting in the truck. The rest I try to finish at night after everyone’s in bed.

Do you outline first or do your characters lead where the story is going?

I’m sort of a quasi-outliner. I know the beginning, midpoint, and end of my books before I start them, but that’s about it. I write Monday through Friday and usually take Saturday to plan the next week’s chapters. That’s about as far as I can see the story.

Any words of encouragement to want to be writers?

It took me about twenty years to get published. The best advice I can give is the advice that got me through all of that: always try one more time. Tell yourself you’ll write one more letter, send one more query. And after that, send another.

Has any of your characters completely surprised you in any way?

Dorothy really surprised me in this book. I had no preconceptions going in of how she would turn out. She completely took over when I wrote about her. All my best characters do.

I got to ask, do you have a favorite book (not one of your own)?  Character?

I keep a volume of Flannery O’Connor’s short stories on my nightstand and will read one a night. To me, there’s never been a better writer. Favorite character? None loom larger than Atticus Finch.

Where is the strangest place you have seen one of your books? ( I love this answer, what a neat thing to see your book so well loved and now they want to share it with others)

One of those tiny wooden library stands outside of a 7-11 near Route 340. It had been dog-eared and underlined and well read.

Leave a Reply

