My Summer Reads

Dear Readers,

Since publishing my summer reading suggestion list I have been ask several times for my own summer list.  The first time I was asked this question I was stumped because that person asked me for just 5 books I wanted to read this summer.  Only 5!?!  Who only reads 5 books in 3 months.

After much thought I did come up with 5 different books.  This might even give you a good idea of what my reading patterns are like.  This list is in no particular order.  I am not picking any book over another as better, I usually pick which one I read next by what I feel like reading.  So I could read one of these this week or in August, but here you go.

  1. Before We Were Yours – Lisa Wingate – Since reading The Story Keeper Lisa has become one of those authors I am always on the lookout for.  It is 1939 and something dark is happening at the Tennessee Children’s Home.  Based on real life happenings.
  2. Beren and Luthien – J.R.R. Tolkien/Christopher Tolkien – The first book Tolkien wrote after arriving back home after WWI.  It is a love story that started Middle Earth.  Based on he and his wife’s story.
  3. The Writing Desk – Rachel Hauck – Rachel’s books are rich in characters that are easy to fall in love with.  Her stories are ones that make me late for work if I start reading them in the morning.
  4. Every Deadly Kiss – Steven James –  I have absolutely loved the Patrick Bowers series right from page one.  Patrick (Steven) has kept me awake at night more times than I care to count.  I can hardly wait for the next one to release.
  5. Jane of Austin – Hillary Manton Lodge – Hillary writes book that are a wonderful blend of issues and humor.  One minute you are laughing and then crying.  Her books are a great way to spend a day.

I know none were on the list I gave out, but these are just releasing or releasing later this Summer.  Feel free to add them to your list.  Of course they will make a different list sometime soon.

Happy Reading,

Leave a Reply

