Book Club Questions

Dear Readers,

Between The Hiding Place and the Johanna and Henriette story, I have been well steeped in Dutch history.  Wonderful and important stories to read and learn about.  But it got me to thinking about traditions in families.

I was asked about different things from my family by a friend a few weeks ago. They are writing a book that includes a dutch person.  So my family and I have been talking, and laughing of course, about different things we remember.  Different sayings, funny things that when you share them others look at you like your family is crazy, (which we get a lot anyways), and heart warming memories.

What are some of your favorite memories, tradition or funny stories you still share in  your family?  One of my favorite is that the night, usually Christmas eve, when we would open presents at our house, we would make pizza.  Not because it was easy, but as my mom confessed years later, but because it was the one thing she could get us to eat.

A word I remember and when I say it not in the dutch community of West Michigan always gets me funny looks.  It means tired or exhausted.  I have no idea how to spell it and I am pretty sure it is a made up word.  Moe is the Dutch word for tires and Doodmoe is dead tired.  So not sure where this word come from, but here is my best way to show what it is.  The phonic spelling is Ben -out.  Like; “I am completely benout.”  Anyone have any idea how to actually spell that or even where the word come from?  My Grandparents used it all the time.

Aren’t these fun?  I love talking and visiting about things like this with folks.

Happy Reading,

2 thoughts on “Book Club Questions

  1. Angie K Mast says:

    Here’s a very late comment. I enjoyed the book & yes, it was interesting to see how the women in Abraham Kuyper’s life made sacrifices for his work. But at times I wanted to have a little talk with him & remind him that he had a family at home who might need him.
    Also, some Dutch phrases. My Dad used to say something like vesch-va-soenlich, (that is a hopeless spelling) which meant “let’s have a little decency around here”, usually when we were giggling & goofing off at the dinner table. We also liked to say “dumkophf” (another bad spelling) which meant dumb in the head, & we not allowed to say that.

    Like

  2. Thank you for sharing Angie. I agree, I wanted Abraham to stay home with his family. My grandmother used to say Benauwd – I was given the spelling by a very helpful man from Zeeland. 🙂 I love the let’s have a little decency around here. That is awesome. I had a friends father who always said, “here, here (or Hear Hear) stop that. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

